The Board of Building Standards officially certified the Tuscarawas County Building Department for the unincorporated areas (Townships) of Tuscarawas County on November 1, 2004. The cities of Dover and New Philadelphia were added on January 11, 2005. Effective September 20, 2004, Holmes County Commissioners passed a resolution to form an agreement between Tuscarawas and Holmes counties. Under this agreement, ECOBA is given authority to administer and enforce the Ohio Building Code within Holmes County.

Commercial and industrial construction projects within these jurisdictions that require plan approval are now submitted to the ECOBA rather than the State of Ohio, Department of Commerce, Division of Industrial Compliance. 

Local Requirements

Structures within the jurisdiction of the ECOBA shall also comply with the requirements as prescribed by the county, city, village or township therein, including but not limited to:

  • Zoning regulations
  • Board of Health
  • Flood plain
  • Ohio Fire code
  • Highway engineering and roadways
  • Storm water management


The State of Ohio maintains jurisdiction for plumbing provisions of the Code in all subdivisions of Tuscarawas and Holmes Counties.

Ohio Department of Commerce
Division of Industrial Compliance
Plumbing Section
6606 Tussing Road
PO Box 4009
Reynoldsburg, OH 43068-9009
(614) 752-1383

Get Application Now

ECOBA Jurisdictions

Follow the links below to determine if the projects you are working on fall under the jurisdiction of ECOBA.

Tuscarawas County Subdivisions
Holmes County Subdivisions
State Jurisdictions
Complete List of Certified Municipal, Township and County Building Departments


Please contact us with questions regarding jurisdiction.